The Gogova Foundation Artists Residency is a residency for young artists that was opened in Baku (Azerbaijan) in 2017. The Foundation’s Expert Council comprises Jarrett Gregory (Hirshhorn Museum, USA), Ekaterina Inozemtseva (Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Russia), Alexey Novoselov (MMOMA, Russia), Simon Mraz (Special Cultural Projects, Austrian Ministry of Foreign Affairs) and Mariana Guber-Gogova.
The Residency aims to foster professional dialogue and cultural exchange and to provide space and opportunities for artists to execute projects selected by the international Expert Council.
The Residency’s first two projects were carried out in central Baku in 2017, with two Russian artists as inaugural residents – Ulyana Podkorytova and Vladimir Abikh. In 2018, the Residency moved to the village of Bukovo (Nizhny Arkhyz, Karachay-Cherkessia), to the Special Astrophysical Observatory of the Russian Academy of Sciences. As part of the residency programme, Liza Artamonova and Ilina Chervonnaya, Vasily Sumin, and Yanina Chernykh created and presented their projects there.

Made on